My favorite design books

anigif_enhanced-buzz-24255-1322329285-30

Someone asked about UX books that I recommend. I thought it would be much better to just list them here to share with everyone. So the list that follows is really just some of the more important books that have influenced my thinking on design (not just UX-specific things) that I think everyone should read.

Yes, it’s a relatively short list. This is largely because if you get through all these, internalize the concepts, and learn to apply the concepts, you will eventually discover the rest of what you need to know simply by doing.

I’ve picked these out in particular because they were some of the more thought-provoking ones that I feel have influenced how I approach design, rather than just being a prescriptive set of things to do.

I do not recommend most “How to …” books, simply because they get stale as soon as they’re printed. Design is a fluid, ever-changing field and hopefully, after reading these, you’ll find your own place within it!

I’d like to hear from you about this. Let me know what you think!

My favorite design books

Leave a Reply

